Log in
Log in


2022 Winner Shane Pittman, PhD, presenting the Bemis Award to 2023 Winner Dennis Doverspike

2023 Winner Dennis Doverspike

The Stephen E. Bemis Memorial Award is a unique award that is intended to reflect on both the tangible contributions that Steve Bemis provided to our profession AND on the open, caring attitude that characterized his personality. It was designed to serve as a perpetual reminder of the qualities that caused his colleagues to admire him.

First, and foremost, Steve Bemis was a practitioner--a practitioner who was deeply committed to the principles of merit and fairness. His primary concerns centered on the need to develop tests that were truly job related and did not unfairly discriminate against any group.

Steve's contributions were practical in nature. He improved upon job analysis techniques and published his results to assist his fellow practitioners. He recognized the extent to which evaluations of Training and Experience highlighted quantity as opposed to quality. Thus, he was one of the initial contributors to the Behavioral Consistency Method. He understood the impossibility of requiring employers to demonstrate empirical validity for all of their tests and joined the fight to elevate the status of content validity as a viable means for employers to validate tests. Steve also recognized the value of tests to management--and the need for management support. As such, he helped publicize the cost utility of employment testing.

Among his many attributes, Steve is most remembered for the friendship he generously gave to his fellow practitioners. He encouraged junior analysts to acquire more knowledge, and he motivated those who had been in the field for many years to share their experiences. Practitioners from across the nation knew that when they called Steve with a technical problem, he would somehow find the answer or the person who had it. In large part, he cultivated networking before it became fashionable. Toward this end, he spearheaded the creation of the Personnel Testing Council of Metropolitan Washington (PTC/MW), which was an overnight success. He also made himself available to share his knowledge at countless professional conferences, conventions, and meetings throughout the country with seemingly tireless energy.

Request for Nominees for the 2024 Stephen E. Bemis Award

The deadline to recommend someone to be the IPAC 2024 Bemis Award Nominee is March 15, 2024.  Members should send their recommendations for the IPAC Nominee to Dennis Joiner at 

As a sponsoring organization, each year IPAC submits a nomination to the Stephen E. Bemis Memorial Award Selection Committee for consideration. The IPAC Board would like your recommendations for who they should nominate this year.

The Stephen E. Bemis Memorial Award is jointly sponsored by many of the nation’s major assessment and testing associations. The purpose of the award is to recognize and honor an outstanding individual who demonstrates the qualities of Stephen Bemis. Last year the award was awarded to Dennis Doverspike. The next award will be presented at the 2024 IPAC Conference in New Orleans, LA. 

At this point we are not asking for a complete nomination packet. Rather, we are asking you as a member to recommend an individual who demonstrates all three of the attributes described below in the section titled, Criteria for Award Selection.

Past Recipients

2023 Dennis Doverspike

2022 Shane Pittman

2021 Nancy T. Tippins 

2020 Mike Aamodt

2019 Deborah L. Whetzel

2018 Marianne Tonjes

2017 Elaine Pulakos

2016 T.R. Lin

2015 Dan Putka

2014 Shelley Langan

2013 Brian O’Leary

2012 Rod Freudenberg

2011 Jeff Feuquay

2010 Deborah Gebhardt

2009 Edward Hane

2008 Kristine Smith

2007 Carla Swander

2006 Michael Willihnganz

2005 Ilene Gast

2004 Mary Anne Nester

2003 Dennis Joiner

2002 Harry Brull

2001 Paul Kaiser

2000 Robert Guion

1999 James Johnson

1998 Donna Denning

1997 Doris Maye

1996 James Sharf

1995 Richard McKillip

1994 Wayne Cascio

1993 Anita Ford

1992 Nancy Abrams

1991 Barbara Showers

1990 Karen Coffee

1989 Bruce Davey

1988 Al Maslow

1987 Ted Darany

1986 Glenn McClung and Charles Sproule

Recommendations for IPAC’s Bemis Award nomination need to be sent to Dennis Joiner, IPAC Bemis Award Committee Chair, at by Friday, March 15, 2024.  Dennis will then submit all recommendations to the IPAC Board for a decision.

Please review the nomination criteria below and if you have any questions, contact Dennis Joiner at (916) 967-7795 or via e-mail:

Criteria for Award Selection

Individuals nominated for this award should be current or retired professionals who most nearly emulate the three primary qualities for which Steve Bemis is remembered:

  • Accomplished personnel measurement practitioners who are recognized for their ongoing commitment to the principles of merit and fairness;
  • Professionals who have made an impact in the field by their practical contribution(s) that have either resulted in an improved or new procedure; and
  • Concerned individuals who are recognized for their commitment to assisting, being available, and freely calling on fellow practitioners.
  • Each requirement is equally significant in making the final determination; all three must be present. Nominations may be submitted by individuals or by professional associations. Nominees need not be members of a professional association to be nominated by that group.

IPAC's Mission, Vision and Values statements drive our organization. Check them out here.

©1994-2024 by International Personnel Assessment Council (IPAC).  All rights reserved.  


Professionally Managed by CORE Association Management

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software